Walking into our chapel by the sea is like taking a step back in time. Our traditional New England style chapel was built in 1891 by the Swampscott Universalist Church, and still carries within its walls the original charm and character. The parish hall was added in 1901, and we named it Simpson Hall after our first minister, Bob Simpson.
Our use and ownership of the church goes back a few years as well. Members of the Salem Spiritualist Church, seeking to branch out on their own in the mid 1960’s, approached the Swampscott Universalists about sharing their lovely chapel, and an agreement was soon struck.
Soon thereafter, the Swampscott Universalists merged with the First Universalist Parish of Lynn. In 1982, they offered to sell the church building to us and with it came the opportunity to grow and thrive in this historic church.